Author Topic: Feature: Message Box Dialogs  (Read 4983 times)

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18801
Feature: Message Box Dialogs
« on: January 05, 2008, 10:38:38 PM »
Sometimes it's useful, when executing commands  from a GUI, for example, to have the response come up in a dialog message box instead of being displayed at the console.

http://dplogin.com/dplogin/featurevote/feature.php?id=10027

webhead

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1185
Re: Feature: Message Box Dialogs
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2008, 11:06:25 PM »
what sort of GUI commands are you talking about?

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: Feature: Message Box Dialogs
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2008, 11:22:34 PM »
Oh this sounds nice, perhaps you could even have the option to use a built in command like MessageBox "Title" "Hello World" or making them with a script.

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18801
Re: Feature: Message Box Dialogs
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2008, 02:13:03 AM »
what sort of GUI commands are you talking about?
Things like the remote admin menu.

Some examples:

safe_cprintf(ent, PRINT_DIALOG, "You must be an OP to use this command.\n");
safe_cprintf(self, PRINT_DIALOG, "You are already on this team!\n");
safe_cprintf(self, PRINT_DIALOG, "Invalid team\n");
safe_cprintf(ent, PRINT_DIALOG, "Server does not have this map (%s).\n", mapname);

webhead

  • Committee Member
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1185
Re: Feature: Message Box Dialogs
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2008, 02:22:22 AM »
ah ok. +1 for making things a little more polished. :)

Cobo

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1362
Re: Feature: Message Box Dialogs
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2008, 02:32:05 AM »
Things like the remote admin menu.

Some examples:

safe_cprintf(ent, PRINT_DIALOG, "You must be an OP to use this command.\n");
safe_cprintf(self, PRINT_DIALOG, "You are already on this team!\n");
safe_cprintf(self, PRINT_DIALOG, "Invalid team\n");
safe_cprintf(ent, PRINT_DIALOG, "Server does not have this map (%s).\n", mapname);
Hm, I thought you were going to add like a console command.

sk89q

  • Global Moderator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 1049
Re: Feature: Message Box Dialogs
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2008, 12:43:59 PM »
With this, besides making some of the messages in dialogs, I think some of them need to be rewritten to be more informative.