Author Topic: Build 36  (Read 18709 times)

Foxhound

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 952
Re: Build 36
« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2012, 07:48:25 PM »
Another suggestion, create a menu option to disable the text boxes, because the console command has to be re-entered everytime you re-play.

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18801
Re: Build 36
« Reply #21 on: September 11, 2012, 09:57:43 PM »
Use seta to archive the setting.

deadfroggy

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 562
Re: Build 36
« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2012, 12:41:00 AM »
what about a gamemode - archery?
So you can practice aiming at targets. Like you could shoot at it get dead center and get 10 points next circle 8...etc. Something like that would be good.

Plus, how do i change it so it wont load the tutorial map every time i open it.

When it does that it doesnt log me in properly?

T3RR0R15T

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2593
Re: Build 36
« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2012, 06:22:22 AM »
Plus, how do i change it so it wont load the tutorial map every time i open it.

Complete it (or set "cl_tutorialcomplete 1") to stop that.

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18801
Re: Build 36
« Reply #24 on: September 12, 2012, 02:23:09 PM »
Here are some things i noticed:

sshot1075: Why is the word "basics" in a new line and not behind the word "the"?

sshot1076: The dialog boxes can overlap each other. Is there maybe a way to stop moving (or temporary unbind the movement keys) while a dialog box is shown. So it shouldn't be possible to get a new one while an old one is open.

sshot1078: Is it normal, that the dialog box background fades out if i don't move around with my mouse? It comes back if i move my mouse.

sshot1079: The tutorial loads directly (instead of the menu) if i start the game. Thats not bad, but why does it show that "login server" message for a few seconds?

sshot1080: After the tutorial map, it shows this menu. Why? I thought it logged me in at the beginning of the tutorial map (see sshot1079), so it should show the normal menu. If it is for new players, there should be the noprofile.txt menu.

Demo:
1. There is a sound like it sends back a flag to the flag point at the beginning of the map
2. I can pic up more than one paint or smoke grenades. Is it new or a bug?
3. I need to close each dialog box again in the demo.

Moved this post to the B36 thread since most of the post was about the build, not the tutorial map.

Word wrapping: Q2 has a weird way of word wrapping.  ViciouZ set up the dialogs, so I assume he used similar code.  I didn't actually implement this.

Dialog overlap: I'm open to suggestions here.  Stopping the player when a dialog pops up is pretty annoying, but I might be able to do a special trigger or something that only does it on the tutorial map.

Login server message:  You have the game set to auto-login, so it will do just that.  Also, since the tutorial map returns you to whatever menu you were last at.  You were at the login screen (when the login completes, it auto-closes this menu, but you're already in the tutorial map).  First-time players won't experience that, so I'm not too worried about it.

Flag return sound: Not sure what's up with that.  I meant to investigate it, but never got around to it.  I'm guessing the pong ball is resetting for some reason.

Can't watch the demo right now, but you shouldn't be able to carry multiple grenades at the same time... I wasn't experiencing that.

I guess something should be done with the dialog prints while you're watching a demo.  The same issue happens with the map voting screen.  It's just replaying data received from the server and displaying it the same way.

T3RR0R15T

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2593
Re: Build 36
« Reply #25 on: September 13, 2012, 07:45:09 AM »
Overlap: Can you check, if the player closed the dialog or not? If yes, close the old dialog automatically if the player gets another one and re-open the old dialog if the players comes to that trigger again (until he clicked OK).

deadfroggy

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 562
Re: Build 36
« Reply #26 on: September 16, 2012, 01:59:38 AM »
oh yeah would you make it so we can like scope? like it slows you down, sorta like cod so you can get better aim.

nub

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 244
Re: Build 36
« Reply #27 on: September 16, 2012, 08:37:20 AM »
oh yeah would you make it so we can like scope? like it slows you down, sorta like cod so you can get better aim.

http://dplogin.com/dplogin/featurevote/feature.php?id=10084

Also here are 4 variations of a script.
_________________________________________________________
Variation 1
The most simple and effective one. When you roll your mousewheel up you zoom in and the sensitivity goes down. You roll it down and you go back to normal and the sensitivity goes back to normal. (You can change the "fov" and the "sensitivity" to your liking.

bind "MWHEELDOWN" "fov 100;sensitivity 6"
bind "MWHEELUP" "fov 40;sensitivity 2"

Variation 2
This one zooms in when you press a key and zooms out when you let go of the key.

alias +zoom "fov 30;sensitivity 5"
alias -zoom "fov 90;sensitivity 10"
bind mouse2 +zoom

Variation 3
This one zooms in when you hit a key then when you hit the key again it will go closer then when you hit the key once again it will go back. You can also bind it to the mousewheel.

alias zoom0 "fov 120; bind f zoom1"
alias zoom1 "fov 70; bind f zoom2"
alias zoom2 "fov 50; bind f zoom0"
bind f zoom1

Variation 4
This one is bound to the mouse wheel and takes into consideration mouse sensitivity.

bind "MWHEELDOWN" "zoom0"
bind "MWHEELUP" "zoom1"
alias zoom0 "crosshair 16;fov 120;sensitivity 20;bind mwheelup zoom1"
alias zoom1 "crosshair 2;fov 70;sensitivity 10;bind mwheelup zoom2;bind mwheeldown zoom0"
alias zoom2 "fov 50;sensitivity 8;bind mwheelup zoom3;bind mwheeldown zoom1"
alias zoom3 "fov 30;sensitivity 6;bind mwheelup zoom4;bind mwheeldown zoom2"
alias zoom4 "fov 10;sensitivity 4;bind mwheeldown zoom3"

Paint.clown

  • Stingray
  • Posts: 61
Re: Build 36
« Reply #28 on: September 16, 2012, 09:10:49 AM »
Great job with the new build Jitspoe.

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18801
Re: Build 36
« Reply #29 on: September 16, 2012, 09:02:03 PM »
Linux files have been added to the first post.

yossarianuk

  • VM-68
  • Posts: 127
Re: Build 36
« Reply #30 on: September 17, 2012, 04:21:59 PM »
New Linux client seems fine - Played for several hours no issues.

Not tried the server.

Cheers for doing the linux build so quickly   ;D

jitspoe

  • Administrator
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 18801
Re: Build 36
« Reply #31 on: September 19, 2012, 10:44:54 PM »
Official release is out.  If you grabbed the pretest, nothing has changed, so you don't have to re-download it.  If not, you can grab it from the Downloads page: http://digitalpaint.org/files/

david14

  • PGP
  • Posts: 9
Re: Build 36
« Reply #32 on: September 20, 2012, 01:47:53 PM »
I know sv_enforcetime2 has been implemented, but when a player is speeding "legally" on ice this happens...




as you can see I am trying to accelerate on ice, but this advice appears on the chat and then the player gets slowed down.

There is a way to "fix" it? or is an unexpected reaction of the limiter?

T3RR0R15T

  • Map Committee
  • Autococker
  • Posts: 2593
Re: Build 36
« Reply #33 on: September 20, 2012, 02:16:41 PM »
I've no problem with it. Are you sure, you didn't enabled tripping? Try to type this into the console: "tripping 0"

david14

  • PGP
  • Posts: 9
Re: Build 36
« Reply #34 on: September 20, 2012, 05:46:26 PM »
I haven't enabled tripping, but it solved my problem, thanks.
Another little trouble I had is related to paintgren in tutorial, when I throw it the game becomes a bit laggy (the same as tripping, I haven't had this problem in past). It is not relevant, but I am checking every aspect of this new build.

Foxhound

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 952
Re: Build 36
« Reply #35 on: September 21, 2012, 06:19:22 PM »
Is the flag supposed to follow the momentum of your body after you've been shot?

david14

  • PGP
  • Posts: 9
Re: Build 36
« Reply #36 on: September 22, 2012, 03:38:34 PM »
Yes, and not only the flag, you can see your weapon, your ammo and the rest of your equipment following physics' laws

Foxhound

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 952
Re: Build 36
« Reply #37 on: September 22, 2012, 04:22:37 PM »
But is that supposed to be how jitspoe wants it? I don't like it.

Narga

  • 68 Carbine
  • Posts: 401
Re: Build 36
« Reply #38 on: September 22, 2012, 11:12:50 PM »

Foxhound

  • Autococker
  • Posts: 952
Re: Build 36
« Reply #39 on: September 22, 2012, 11:24:37 PM »
you would.