Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

October 18, 2018, 02:51:33 PM
Show unread posts since last visit.

Home | Help | Search | Login | Register

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Tutorial] Creating SKM Models with Blender  (Read 9378 times)
jitspoe
Administrator
Autococker

Posts: 18592

« on: October 20, 2012, 02:04:28 AM »

This tutorial is for Blender 2.64.  There's a high chance it won't work with other versions due to format changes.



Step 1 - Downloads:

Download blender: http://www.blender.org/download/get-blender/
 - If you need 2.64: http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.64/

Download an SMD exporter: http://code.google.com/p/blender-smd/
 - Mirrored here: http://dplogin.com/files/tools/skm/io_smd_tools-1.5.2.zip

Download skelmod (SKM) converter: http://bfeared.com/library/quake/archive/quakedev/jalisko/index_files/skelmod.htm
 - Mirrored here: http://dplogin.com/files/tools/skm/skmodel2.03.zip



Step 2 - Installation:

Install & open Blender - should be self explanatory.

Unzip the smd tools.

In blender, go to FIle -> User Preferences -> Addons -> Install Addon... and browse to the directory with the smd files you extracted.

Select io_smd_tools.py.  It should display "Import-Export: SMD\DMX Tools".  Check the box to the right of that to enable the plugin.  Close the window.



Step 3 - Export:

Note: before exporting, you must have at least one bone assigned to the mesh, and you probably need to set up materials and UV coordinates, otherwise the SKM converter will likely fail.  Also note that 1 unit in Quake 2 is really tiny, so you'll likely have to scale up your object about 10x's.

Go to File -> Export -> Source Engine (.smd, .vta, .dmx).  I just selected the first option, which created a .smd with the same name as my mesh (Cube.smd).

If you don't see the export option, make sure it's enabled by going to File->User Preferences->Addons->Import-Export and checking "Import-Export: SMD\DMX Tools".



Step 4 - Convert:

The easiest way to do this is to extract skmodel.exe, run.bat, and model_definition.txt from the zip in step 1 into the directory with your skp file.

Open model_definition.txt.

Change the "model" and "export" lines to the name you want the model to be.

Replace the "scene" lines with the name(s) of the smd(s) you exported from blender.  You will probably just have one, unless you have multiple animations.

Double click run.bat.

If all goes well, you'll get a .skm, .skp, and .skin file.  You don't need the .skin file.  If you get errors, make sure you have a bone assigned to your mesh.

You may want to edit your run.bat to copy the skm and skp files into the appropriate paintball2 directories if you're frequently editing the same file.
Logged
deadfroggy
Autococker

Posts: 565

« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 04:25:51 AM »

Make sticky please Tongue
Logged
gonass
68 Carbine

Posts: 383

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2012, 03:59:57 PM »

There's also an old .bsp exporter for an older version of blender.  I think it was 2.5. You can make something in the new version and then open it in the old one and export it.
Logged
deadfroggy
Autococker

Posts: 565

« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2012, 03:57:56 AM »

I get this error exporting to smd.

error inparsetriangles,expecting 'numinfluences', script like: 0 1.000000 -096
3327 -0.155337 1.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.041082 0.076537 0
error processing script

??
Logged
jitspoe
Administrator
Autococker

Posts: 18592

« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2012, 05:28:14 PM »

You probably did not set up your skeleton correctly.  You must have at least one bone.
Logged
Makowiec
VM-68

Posts: 112

« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2013, 02:06:04 PM »

What about textures that I'd like to use in my model? Can I just use uv texturing in blender?
Logged
jitspoe
Administrator
Autococker

Posts: 18592

« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2013, 02:44:16 AM »

Yeah, you use the UV's in blender.  I didn't really go into detail there, but it should be like creating a model for any other game.
Logged
Makowiec
VM-68

Posts: 112

« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2013, 03:34:26 PM »

So I made a model, I textured it, then converted succesfully and.. it's completely transparent ;o. Have you got any idea why all my models are invisible? Thanks for help anyway Wink
Logged
jitspoe
Administrator
Autococker

Posts: 18592

« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2013, 10:41:29 PM »

So I made a model, I textured it, then converted succesfully and.. it's completely transparent ;o. Have you got any idea why all my models are invisible? Thanks for help anyway Wink
Are you sure it's not just really tiny?  1 unit in quake is close to 1 inch; in Blender, I think it's 1m.
Logged
Makowiec
VM-68

Posts: 112

« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2013, 02:10:11 PM »

Are you sure it's not just really tiny?  1 unit in quake is close to 1 inch; in Blender, I think it's 1m.
Yeah.. You're right. Thanks Wink
Logged
WarWulf
Autococker

Posts: 535

« Reply #10 on: December 25, 2015, 10:12:21 AM »

nice
Logged
WarWulf
Autococker

Posts: 535

« Reply #11 on: December 25, 2015, 12:09:27 PM »

getting the same error as deadfroggy and i do have a bone attached when i am in pose mode the bone moves the mesh around.
Logged
promarijan
VM-68

Posts: 182

« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2016, 12:51:20 PM »

This Post is old but i guess we run out of models that are up to date and i am interested in testing with all the stuff but can't get it done, atm i am too inexperienced with blender.
May someone create a more into detail tutorial for how to create models that will work with the converter? I would also love to know how to create own playermodels (does the genderfunction work ingame? so i could create a female player for testing?).
Logged
WarWulf
Autococker

Posts: 535

« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2018, 08:33:00 PM »

Ahh this is what I am looking for I'll be doing live streams on the weekend for this
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Show unread posts since last visit.
Jump to:  


Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines