Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

April 23, 2014, 11:55:14 AM
Show unread posts since last visit.

Home | Help | Search | Login | Register

Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Build 39  (Read 1254 times)
jitspoe
Administrator
Autococker

Posts: 17841

« on: October 06, 2013, 10:11:46 PM »

I'm uploading the pretest version now.

WHAT'S NEW:

Engine:

build 39 (2013-10-06):
- Feature: Adding "missingpic" keyword to menu system so mapshots could display a default "NO PREVIEW" image instead of a grey box.
- Tweak: Improved model rendering performance a bit by using SIMD instructions. 1:02 PM 5/29/2013
- Tweak: Allowed crosshair scale to go below 1.
- Tweak: Improved entity point lighting using LordHavoc's code from DarkPlaces (use r_oldlightpoint cvar to toggle old system). 1:34 AM 6/5/2013
- Tweak: Made it so duplicate lines don't get stored in the console history.
- Tweak: Made the window position reset if the window is not visible on any monitor. 1:24 AM 9/12/2013
- Tweak: Disabled sound on alt-tab by default, since sometimes sounds were getting stuck on (seta s_disableonalttab 0 to reenable). 1:54 AM 10/6/2013
- Cvar: "r_hardware_light" - Enables OpenGL lighting on SKM models for better performance (on most hardware).  Enabled by default.
- Cvar: "cl_conback" - specifies the console background texture. (Thanks, T3RR0R15T)
- Cvar: "cl_menuback" - specifies the menu background texture. (Thanks, T3RR0R15T)
- Cvar: "cl_maptime", "cl_maptimex", "cl_maptimey" - Displays elapsed map time on the HUD at the x and y position specified. (Thanks, T3RR0R15T/AprQ2)
- Cvar: "cl_drawping" - displays ping on the HUD. (Thanks, T3RR0R15T)
- Cvar: "sv_blockednames" - Comma-separated list of names server admins can choose to block from connecting to the server. (Thanks, T3RR0R15T)
- Cvar: "cl_sse" - Enables SIMD rendering optimizations (enabled by default).
- Bugfix: Fixed issue with loading demos and maps (trying to open "Loading....bsp", etc.)
- Bugfix: Fixed occasional black splat models (hopefully). 1:24 AM 6/11/2013
- Bugfix: Fixed transparent surfaces on moving brushmodels (ex: doors) not moving.  Note that the draw order is still not fixed, so avoid putting them near other transparent brushes, but at least they will move.  2:12 AM 6/16/2013
- Bugfix: Made reflective water effect respect scale and rotation on maps (so flowing water flows the way the mapper specified). 12:01 AM 9/12/2013

Game DLL:

*** 1.929 build 185 ***
- Fixed issue where hitting a player multiple times in the same frame would count for multiple points is siege, dm, etc. 11:12 PM 6/12/2013
- Attempted to fix issue where priming a grenade could result in premature detonation of the next grenade picked up (couldn't reproduce it).
- Fixed grenades not dropping correctly. 2:42 PM 6/16/2013
- Fixed prediction miss collision issue with dead bots (caused that laggy/bouncy/warpy movement when running over a bot that had just been eliminated). 2:24 AM 6/17/2013
- Added messages to indicate when jails are forced or not present in maps when using the "jail" command. 9:33 PM 8/13/2013
- Added popup messages when switching teams. 7:09 PM 10/6/2013



Pretest version:

Windows:

Full: http://digitalpaint.org/files/temp/paintball2_build039_full_pretest1a.exe
Update: http://digitalpaint.org/files/temp/paintball2_build039_update_pretest1a.exe

Linux:

Full: http://digitalpaint.org/files/temp/paintball2_build039_linux_full_pretest1.tar.gz
Update: http://digitalpaint.org/files/temp/paintball2_build039_linux_patch_pretest1.tar.gz
« Last Edit: October 07, 2013, 12:44:07 PM by jitspoe » Logged
LaZeRs
Autococker

Posts: 831

« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2013, 10:13:57 PM »

What about the siege grenade bug?
Logged
Rick
Map Committee
Autococker

Posts: 2067

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2013, 11:43:17 PM »

It might just be me, but I really dislike that the pps/fps/Png aren't aligned. I also dislike the capital P, just seems out of place Smiley


* ping_pps_fps.jpg (542.61 KB, 1920x1080 - viewed 384 times.)
Logged
FusSioN
68 Carbine

Posts: 461

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2013, 11:49:12 PM »

How do I display fps and other things again? I forgot
Logged
Rick
Map Committee
Autococker

Posts: 2067

« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2013, 11:51:29 PM »

How do I display fps and other things again? I forgot

Code:
cl_drawfps 1
cl_drawpps 1
cl_drawping 1
Logged
FusSioN
68 Carbine

Posts: 461

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2013, 11:52:56 PM »

Code:
cl_drawfps 1
cl_drawpps 1
cl_drawping 1
thanks. Btw I just downloaded it, and yeah, Rick's right. Those are misaligned.
Logged
ic3
Autococker

Posts: 1136

« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2013, 03:06:52 AM »

Whats the different between drawping 1 (1-8 Png on a local server) and drawping 2 (58-65 on a local server) ?




(Server based in Frankfurt, Germany)
http://ic3x.de/stack/game/paintball2_build039_full_pretest1a.exe
http://ic3x.de/stack/game/paintball2_build039_update_pretest1a.exe

http://ic3x.de/stack/game/paintball2_build039_linux_full_pretest1.tar.gz
http://ic3x.de/stack/game/paintball2_build039_linux_patch_pretest1.tar.gz
Logged
jitspoe
Administrator
Autococker

Posts: 17841

« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2013, 09:59:42 AM »

Whats the different between drawping 1 (1-8 Png on a local server) and drawping 2 (58-65 on a local server) ?
Good question.  T3RR0R15T implemented it.  Perhaps he can explain.
Logged
open_war
VM-68

Posts: 143

« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2013, 11:24:14 AM »

Why does my private server not work anymore?

Is that a generell bug or is there a way to fix that?

(downgrading to build 38 isnt a nice way!)


B39... Good job anyway! I love the cl_menuback/conback! (It was my idea and TERR0R15T tried to get it work for me... THX for that again!)
Logged
T3RR0R15T
Map Committee
Autococker

Posts: 2531

« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2013, 11:25:34 AM »

cl_drawping settings: 1 = lowest value, 2 = average value (both since the last update; will be updated all 0,5 sek)
Logged
jitspoe
Administrator
Autococker

Posts: 17841

« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2013, 11:34:40 AM »

Why does my private server not work anymore?

Is that a generell bug or is there a way to fix that?
Can you elaborate a bit more?  What happens when you try to run it?  Does it crash?
Logged
open_war
VM-68

Posts: 143

« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2013, 11:46:55 AM »

I just run the shortcut...
Then it does that:

[*******] Date: 2013-10-07
[18:42:07] Winsock Initialized.
[18:42:07] =====Paintball II Initialized =====

[18:42:07] Exeting configs/openwar.cfg.
[18:42:07] Invalid info cvar value.
[18:42:07] Master server at 70.85.9.178:27900.
[18:42:07] Sending a ping.
[18:42:07] Master server at 69.10.30.248:27900.
[18:42:07] Sending a ping.

Then Paintball2.exe just crashes like any executable crashing...
Logged
jitspoe
Administrator
Autococker

Posts: 17841

« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2013, 11:54:55 AM »

Looks like you have some bad value in one of your cvars.  Maybe a / or \?  Could you send me your config file?
Logged
open_war
VM-68

Posts: 143

« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2013, 12:06:08 PM »

thats true but i dont know why but it runs with b38...
it doesnt matter what config i use... i think

* openwar.zip (1.27 KB - downloaded 21 times.)
Logged
T3RR0R15T
Map Committee
Autococker

Posts: 2531

« Reply #14 on: October 07, 2013, 12:14:12 PM »

I get a "GL_FindImage: Can't load pics/***r_notexture***." on the first time, it try to load a mapshot. Is 128x128 for a mapshot up to date or is 256x128 better (like the nopreview image has)?

I get the same crash with a home server. It doesn't like line 1062 in cl_parse.c (cl_language->modified = false;).


Edit: The game changelog in the first post is b38, not b39 Tongue

Edit2: Maybe an old bug: If g_autobalance is set to 2, i'm alone on a map and i try to join another team, it says "autobalance is forced" or switches me to another team. If i'm in the right team, it says "autobalance is forced" or switches me to another team instead of "already *teamcolor*".


* sshot1247.jpg (1261.85 KB, 1280x1024 - viewed 296 times.)
« Last Edit: October 07, 2013, 12:46:29 PM by T3RR0R15T » Logged
jitspoe
Administrator
Autococker

Posts: 17841

« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2013, 12:42:21 PM »

Apparently ", \ and ; can't be used in cvars, so it doesn't like your url.

That's not the cause of the crash, though.  The problem is that it's trying to translate some stuff on the loading screen, but doesn't have the cvars for language and such loaded since it's in dedicated server mode.  It shouldn't even be calling those functions in dedicated mode.  I'll upload a fix later tonight.  I'll fix the r_notexture error as well. I thought I had that fixed, but apparently I needed "pics/" before it.

Edit: Fixed the game CL as well.

I'm wondering if, with these fixes, I should continue to call it build 39, or up the build number to 40...
Logged
T3RR0R15T
Map Committee
Autococker

Posts: 2531

« Reply #16 on: October 07, 2013, 12:49:34 PM »

I would stay at 39. It's a pretest, so we can find bugs, which are fixed in the final b39.
Logged
open_war
VM-68

Posts: 143

« Reply #17 on: October 07, 2013, 12:50:04 PM »

I think you should wait for great update news for build 40!

Make a kinda bigger update with b40!
Maybe something with the menumusic would be very very nice! I would love it!
Even Make a new default mappack of the best maps that are currently available...

I dont know but make with Build40 something bigger!
That would be nice!
Logged
ic3
Autococker

Posts: 1136

« Reply #18 on: October 07, 2013, 01:20:50 PM »

cl_drawping settings: 1 = lowest value, 2 = average value (both since the last update; will be updated all 0,5 sek)

But why is the avg on a local server 58-65 ?
Logged
T3RR0R15T
Map Committee
Autococker

Posts: 2531

« Reply #19 on: October 07, 2013, 01:35:56 PM »

Don't know, use the lowest Tongue
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Show unread posts since last visit.
Jump to:  


Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines